IP adres for the ftp

Anything you want!
Locked
trajectum
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:39 am

IP adres for the ftp

Post by trajectum » Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:49 am

hallo,

I have a computer that is running this program. On my other computer i will up and download files. But the adres at this moment is ftp://123.45.56.67 (some ip adres for example). I wonder if it is possible te change the ip adres in something else, for example HALLOIKBENBEN.
So going to my page i must enter ftp://halloikbenben/

is this possible?

mdj
Moderator
Posts: 656
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by mdj » Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:47 am

Sure it is, this is purely a DNS(/WINS) problem, the FTP server will not mind at all.
Morten Due Jørgensen
http://www.mdjnet.dk

trajectum
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:39 am

Post by trajectum » Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:41 pm

tnx. But can you tell me how i must do that? I have no idea

mdj
Moderator
Posts: 656
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by mdj » Mon Jan 07, 2008 3:41 am

If you want it to work within your LAN, you could use an entry in the LMHOSTS file on the machines where you wish to be able to access your FTP - unless you have some local DNS service running or WINS or AD, which can resolve a name to an ip address - and you probably haven't.

If you want it to work from the "outside", you need to buy some domain name, and configure it to point to your ip address. If you don't have a static public ip, dyndns.com is a possibility.
Morten Due Jørgensen
http://www.mdjnet.dk

trajectum
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:39 am

Post by trajectum » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:06 am

but is it possible to log in my ftp server without a DNS? wherefore is the DNS, only for changing the IP address in a internet address?

Now I can't login my ftp server, when i'm on a other location. Is it possible without a DNS? Now I can only login when I'm on the same network.

mdj
Moderator
Posts: 656
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by mdj » Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:43 am

DNS is required to resolve a name into an ip address. You can always log in using the ip address, also from the outside - if you have everything else correctly configured, port forwarding in the router and all - but if you want to use a name instead, you need DNS. There are alternatives, like editing the LMHOSTS file, but that should be for special cases only.
Morten Due Jørgensen
http://www.mdjnet.dk

Locked