My Ip is 192.168.1.31 but Cerberus start with 127.0.0.1

This forum is for anyone experiencing problems related to their firewall settings. More specifically, anyone experiecing connection issues should take a look at this forum.
Post Reply
je79ayps
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 2:30 pm
Location: Denmark

My Ip is 192.168.1.31 but Cerberus start with 127.0.0.1

Post by je79ayps » Wed Feb 11, 2004 2:49 pm

I'm running 2.11 and behind a Zyxel firewall.

I used to use DHCP addresses but that wasn't good because my firewall only is able to forward port 21 to one address.

So I changed my address to 192.168.1.31. Cerberus is installed as a service but now when Windows starts Cerberus says my address is 127.0.0.1 and noone can connect to it. If I stop and start the server it get's the right address, 192.168.1.31.

Is this something the an upgrade to 2.15 would solve or how do I deal with it? If I choose to upgrade what should I do with the configured user accounts?

User avatar
Serin
Site Administrator
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 6:57 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by Serin » Thu Feb 12, 2004 11:19 pm

Hello,

I would recommend upgrading to 2.15. The newest version can automatically detect IPs that change after Cerberus starts. Don't worry about your existing users, they will still be there after upgrading. The uninstall program never removes the user files.

je79ayps
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 2:30 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by je79ayps » Sat Feb 14, 2004 5:37 am

Thanks! It looks like it helped...

MasterFred

192.169...

Post by MasterFred » Mon Mar 08, 2004 11:16 am

I would like to add that the "192.168.X.X" network is a private network.
In other words, every ip address that starts with 192.168 is a reserved address.
A reserved address is an address that can be used, but that IP address cannot be hooked up to the internet.
They (whoever "they" is) "reserved" a few ip addresses that can only be used for networks not hooked up to the internet. "They" did this because we were running out of IP addresses.
You will have to ask your ISP or look on your router to find out what address you're using for internet use.

Post Reply