Page 1 of 1

FTP server behind a router and FTP client behind

Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 7:57 am
by rrramalho
Summary of problem:
FTP server behind a router and FTP client behind
a router. Connecting through passive (PASV), the
client can authenticate but gives error and the TIMEOUT
run the command "LIST".

Under the scenario:

FTP Server
Cerberus server.
Dlink home router.
Router with IP 192.168.0.1
Machine where the server is hosted with IP
192.168.0.104
Released internal TCP port 21 and TCP port 8221 published
released. Firewall redirecting traffic on port
publishes 8221 to internal port 21.
Range of TCP ports on the router public release,
11000 to 12000 for PASV trafficking route.
Range of TCP ports on the router private released,
11000 to 12000 for PASV trafficking route.
IP interface settings in the server pointing
to the external IP of the router.
External IP of the router being identified through
service "DDNS".
Server configured to work with the range of
PASV ports between 11000 and 12000.

FTP client
CORE FTP program.
Dlink home router.
Router with IP 192.168.0.1
The FTP client machine with IP 192.168.0.150
Program configured to interact with the server
through the TCP port range of 11000 to 12000
Client configured to send the request for connection
via TCP port 8221.

Please, someone already faced this situation?
Both servers and clients behind a router. What
am I doing wrong? Remembering that the client is
authenticate the server but to give the command "LIST", gives
"TIMEOUT". Waiting for any help.

Re: FTP server behind a router and FTP client behind

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:15 am
by mdj
Take a look in the FAQ, there is an entry about "intelligent" routers. The bottom line is to try to configure the server with it's internal ip as external ip instead of DDNS.

Re: FTP server behind a router and FTP client behind

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:19 pm
by rrramalho
MDJ which part of the FAQ, you could paste the link? I read the entire FAQ, but found nothing that solves my problem. Remember, the client authenticates usually, but the problem is when it runs the command "LIST". Ask me, in a PASV connection the server uses the data to TCP port 20 ? or only the doors of the range, which in my case would be between 11.000 and 12.000.

Tanks

Re: FTP server behind a router and FTP client behind

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:04 am
by mdj
Only the range 11000-12000. Port 20 is traditionally used as *source*-port for active ftp.

http://www.cerberusftp.com/faq/troubleshooting.html#Q3

- if that is indeed the problem.

Re: FTP server behind a router and FTP client behind

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:45 am
by brianaxa
How can I keep the forwarded ports though my router going to the same computer? I have a home network. The router has port forwarding, which you set by setting which IP address the ports are forwarded to. But as the computers come and go and are restarted, the router keeps assigning them different addresses, leading to the ports forwarding to different machines all the time, which I'm constantly manually correcting. I've tried setting up the computers with manual IP settings, or using DHCP with a manual IP address, but neither one will work- they only work when configured to use DHCP, and then the addresses keep changing. An old router I had let you reserve an IP address and always assign it to the same MAC address, so the same machine always had a static local IP, but my Linksys Wireless router doesn't appear to offer that. Any idea?
___________
keyword research ~ keyword tool ~ keyword tracking ~ affiliate elite

Re: FTP server behind a router and FTP client behind

Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:46 pm
by Serin
Hello,

Yes, if your router doesn't support DHCP reservations then you can simply assign a static IP to the computer hosting the server. Just make sure you exclude that server IP from the DHCP range.

For example, if your DHCP server usually hands out IP addresses in the range of 192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.200, you could change that range to something like 192.168.0.101 - 192.168.0.200 and simply assign the server computer the IP address 192.168.0.100 statically. You won't have to worry about conflicts if you change the DHCP range and you won't have to worry about the server IP changing.

I run a similar setup at home and it works great.